Building 60 (Heritage House)
In 1886, after a period of persistent lobbying by Minister of Agriculture Sir John Carling and Director of Research William E. Saunders, the Central Experimental Farm was established just outside of the city of Ottawa, Ontario. The farm originally consisted of 188 hectares that would be used for scientific experiments related to botany and horticulture.
Building 60, the present day office of the Canada Agricultural Review Tribunal, was constructed on the Farm in 1889 by the Department of Public Works and acted as the residence for senior cereal grains research personnel. The house was declared a Heritage House in 1999 for its picturesque Queen Anne Revival style.
Central Experimental Farm - Building Area Map