Opening up the "Open Court" Principle of Administrative Tribunals

By: Zackery Shaver, student-at-law with the Canada Agricultural Review Tribunal (CART)

It is easy to forget that not that long ago, the majority of human information and thought was stored in large stone and brick buildings containing hundreds and thousands of oddly shaped rectangular paperweights called books. Since that time, information has steadily changed mediums, from library to electronic service, from computer to tablet, paid service to creative commons. With this democratization of information and the coming of age of a whole generation that shares an unprecedented amount of their lives through social media, it should come as no surprise that institutions are now being expected to be as transparent in their operations as their users. It is my view that the progress of the last 20 years will spill over well into the next 10 and that the traditional "open court" principle will evolve into an "open door" principle, where it will no longer be enough for content to be available upon request, but rather for content to be made available proactively from anywhere and accessible by anyone.

A view to Transparency and Openness

While this movement has exhibited itself in various different forms from businesses providing detailed financial and strategic information on their operationsFootnote 1, to governments providing advanced solutions for tracking expendituresFootnote 2, to individual’s income tax forms being published for the entire world to seeFootnote 3, it remains to be seen how these actions will translate into the legal and administrative law contexts. We know, as a fact, that the vast majority of the public’s interactions with the "law" will be in an administrative context, whether disputing a parking ticket or applying for veteran’s benefits, however, what does that mean practically for these administrative functions? As Benedict Kingsbury enunciated in a 2009 article discussing global administrative law, "Publicness is a necessary element in the concept of law under modern democratic conditions ... [where] publicness is meant [to be] the claim made for law that it has been wrought by the whole society, by the public, and the connected claim that law addresses matters of concern to the society as such."Footnote 4

As such, a decision that has been wrought in the name of a whole society must necessarily allow the public to understand how that decision has come to be. In Canada, there has been significant discussion in recent memory on the application of "principles of fundamental justice" and "Charter values" in order to make use of Charter protections that would apply in a criminal context, in a somewhat diluted context in administrative actions. To be sure, the application of "Charter values" in the administrative law context is a subject that has filled volumes, however, for my purposes, I will necessarily limit the discussion and conclude that individuals have a general right to know the case before them, a right to be heard and a right to a motivated decision on the matter. While I understand that the exact content and manner of these rights will vary based on circumstances, I would argue that a general basic obligation would exist in these three areas.

The Honourable John D. Richard, a previous Chief Justice of the Federal Court, enunciated this view in a speech he gave to the Canadian Bar Association in 2002 when he said:

To be effective and to be treated as credible adjudicative bodies, administrative tribunals must be accountable. They must be accountable to the legislature and the government for fulfilling their mandate in an objective and impartial manner. They must also be accountable to the Canadians who are affected by their decisions. Judith McCormack has said that "accountability relates to being able to identify what a decision is, who made it, why it was made, who influenced it, and who will be affected by it"Footnote 5

While the insights given by Mr. Richard in the text of his speech relate to the possibility for adequate review of a matter, these same principles may also inform individuals and the public about the nature of the matters that have been set before adjudicative bodies and administrative tribunals. What remains to be seen is how useful such decision-making may be to the individual or to society in general, on whose behalf this decision is made?

So how does the goal of promoting "publicness" within the administrative law context necessarily interface with an administrative tribunal’s general obligation to be accountable to both the legislature and the judiciary? The language of the law is often highly technical and virtually incomprehensible to the masses, while the trials and tribulations of the increasing number of specialised administrative tribunals may end up being even more technical, given the nature of the tribunal’s work. As such, the challenge remains to provide meaningful and understandable information to stakeholders, of which the public is included, while providing specialised services to the end-users of the tribunal or adjudicative body.

Promoting Open and Transparent Decision-Making

The promotion of open and transparent decision-making can also find its source in five key values that have been identified by the United States Congress to be of paramount importance between government and the governed. These are: accountability, efficiency, transparency, participation and collaborationFootnote 6. While these values are in no way definitive, they do provide a basis for measuring how policy and actions may be developed in order for adjudicative bodies and administrative tribunals to meet their mandates while ensuring to balance other considerations than simply the bottom-line.

Promoting open and transparent decision-making is challenging, particularly as policy regarding how and in what manner content may be made available remains in development. This being said, possible solutions for making content available have veritably exploded with the advancement of the internet as the pre-eminent communications medium and the "cloud" as the primary storage medium of the 21st century. Where case files have largely continued to exist in paper form and required dedicated centralised registry personnel, new and robust electronic case management systems have allowed for the decentralisation of these services, allowing services to be made available in more locations and with shorter lead times. For example, the Social Security Tribunal, established in 2013, operates their case management system through Service Canada locations, with the electronic copy of documents considered the original. Members reside throughout Canada, allowing the flexibility to have members geographically closer to applicants to hear cases, while also having the possibility to hold hearings through written submissions, teleconference, videoconference or in personFootnote 7.

While these solutions have been effective in simplifying processes for the administration of decisions, the use of technology does not appear to have simplified the process of accessing this information. Where the private sphere has leveraged extranets to simplify the sharing of information in business transactions, these "digital war rooms" have not been as popular for case management purposes. Taking the Federal Court and Federal Court of Appeal as an example, information about the nature of a case is presently freely available. Information concerning the names and contact information of the parties, the submissions they have made in a case and the status of the case before the Court are all easily available with a simple search by name or case number. However, due to the limited use of "electronic" submissions, reproduction of case documents has remained prohibitively expensive for interested parties if they don’t happen to be parties to the caseFootnote 8.

By developing permissions-based systems or by supplying online redacted versions of these case files, adjudicative bodies and administrative tribunals would be able to make themselves more open and transparent to the public, while also providing a more easily scalable and accessible means for parties to access case content. This would also obviate the need dedicating significant amounts of space to the storage and maintenance of said files. Such an organisation would also be useful in cases involving judicial review, where the compilation of large files can be both expensive and time consuming.

While the above-noted examples represent but two possibilities in making administrative decision-making more open and transparent, it is important to realise that there are innumerable alternatives that could also respond to the same goals. Given the equally prominent explosion in privacy legislation, it is possible that individuals may not want details relating to their personal lives in the public sphere. While administrative sanctions, to name but one subject, may not be criminal in nature, they could be very damaging to an individual’s reputation within a community. While greater transparency, may lead to a more democratic and fair society, it may also result in one that is more restrictive and over-bearing.

Creating a more Open and Transparent Society

Ultimately, the goal of maintaining open and transparent administrative proceedings and procedures is with the goal of promoting the values of accountability, efficiency, transparency, participation and collaboration. For a society to function as it should, it is necessary for people to understand how to interact in the public sphere. While criminal law often concerns matters where people’s direct actions normally have direct consequences, matters in administrative law may not be as clear and may require specific actions in order to achieve the desired consequences. By making meaningful information available for stakeholders at all levels, dialogue is possible between the administrative body, the legislator, the judiciary and the public. In this way, governance can be collaborative rather than adversarial and provide a forum for continual improvement rather than a forum of continuous frustration.

These values are particularly important in a society where political participation is not a static concept and is not limited to representation in the legislature. Individuals today are able to communicate in real time regardless of where they are located in a country or in the world and are capable of mobilizing interest quickly and efficiently. People are no longer limited by word of mouth, print or mass media, with Twitter, Facebook and innumerable other social apps and websites able to organise people within moments, whether to stage, local, regional, national or international protests. This has led to profound change in the ways that information can be disseminated, as well as creating a profound risk that the information transmitted could be wrong.

As such, it is incumbent on institutional actors to provide accessible and authoritative information in order to avoid such confusion and provide channels for individuals to act on this information. While the concept of a participatory democracy can trace its history back to Athenian times, the scale with which it is possible for individuals to participate within our democracy has reached untold levels and has the ability to be transformative in how individuals interact with their government.

While it may seem grandiose to believe that in making adjudicative bodies and administrative tribunals fully transparent by default, we can create a more progressive, open and participative society, one has only to look at what subjects administrative law concerns to see that this would no doubt be the case. If individuals were better able to understand income tax cases before the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), paying these taxes wouldn’t cause so much trepidation. If immigrants to Canada knew how their cases stacked up to other similar individuals, would they be as worried of being deported? Information in the 21st century, more than at any time before, gives power to those that wield it. Lawyers have been able to leverage knowledge of the law to make a living for several hundred years now. Given the increasing cost of such specialised knowledge and the relative explosion of administrative law, it would appear only fair to "level the playing field."

Footnotes

Promouvoir le principe de la publicité des débats des tribunaux administratifs

Préparé par Zackery Shaver, étudiant en droit rattaché à la Commission de révision agricole du Canada (CRAC)

On oublie facilement qu’il n’y a pas si longtemps, l’on stockait l’information et les idées dans de grands édifices de brique et de pierre renfermant des centaines de milliers d’étranges blocs de papier rectangulaires appelés « livres ». Depuis cette époque, les supports de stockage ont constamment évolué, d’abord offerts en bibliothèque puis au moyen de services électroniques, sur des ordinateurs personnels puis sur des tablettes, au moyen de services payants puis d’œuvres en usage partagé. En raison de la démocratisation de l’information et de l’avènement d’une génération tout entière qui se sert des médias sociaux pour diffuser une quantité sans précédent d’information sur sa vie, on ne peut s’étonner que les institutions doivent répondre aux doléances de leurs utilisateurs réclamant plus de transparence. Je suis d’avis que l’évolution observée au cours des vingt dernières années se répercutera sur les dix prochaines et que le principe de la publicité des débats évoluera vers celui de la porte ouverte. Ainsi, il ne suffira plus de mettre l’information à la disposition de ceux qui en font la demande; il faudra également la rendre accessible partout et à tous par des moyens proactifs.

Vision de la transparence et de l’ouverture

Bien que ce mouvement se soit manifesté sous diverses formes que l’on songe, par exemple, aux entreprises divulguant des informations financières détaillées et stratégiques au sujet de leur fonctionnement, aux gouvernementsFootnote 1 proposant des solutions de pointe pour faire le suivi des dépenses ou à la publication de déclarations de revenues personnelles de certains citoyensFootnote 2 à l’intention du public, il reste à découvrirFootnote 3 comment ces actions se traduiront dans le contexte des lois et des lois administratives. Comme on le sait, la grande majorité des interactions du public avec la loi sont de nature administrative et ont trait, par exemple, à la contestation d’une contravention de stationnement ou au droit aux prestations d’un vétéran. Cependant, quelles en sont les répercussions pratiques dans un contexte administratif? Comme l’a souligné en 2009 Benedict Kingsbury dans un article portant sur le droit administratif global, [Traduction] « Le caractère public est un élément indissociable du concept du droit dans les démocraties modernes... et c’est de ce principe dont on se réclame en soutenant que le droit est le fruit de la société tout entière, soit du public, et que, de ce fait, le droit régit des questions d’intérêt pour la société »Footnote 4.

Ainsi, les décisions conclues pour le compte de l’ensemble d’une société doivent nécessairement permettre au public d’en comprendre l’origine. Au Canada, on a largement abordé, dans l’histoire récente, l’application des « principes de justice fondamentale » et des « valeurs de la Charte » dans un contexte dilué de démarches administratives pour se prémunir des mécanismes de protection de la Charte dans le cadre du droit criminel. Il est entendu que le sujet de l’application des valeurs de la Charte dans un contexte de droit administratif a largement été exploité. Toutefois, pour les besoins de cet article, je limiterai mes propos et conclurai que les citoyens ont en général le droit de connaître les éléments des causes qui les concernent, le droit d’être entendus et le droit de disposer d’une décision dûment motivée sur la question. Même si je comprends que le contenu exact et la présentation de ces droits varient en fonction des circonstances, j’aurais tendance à penser que des obligations élémentaires existent dans ces trois domaines.

L’honorable John D. Richard, ex-juge en chef de la Cour fédérale du Canada, a exposé cette vision des choses dans une allocution prononcée en 2002 à l’intention de l’Association du Barreau canadien :

Pour être efficaces et être considérés comme des organismes juridictionnels crédibles, les tribunaux administratifs doivent rendre compte de leurs actes. Ils doivent rendre compte à la législature et au gouvernement de l’exécution de leur mandat d’une manière objective et impartiale. Ils doivent aussi rendre des comptes aux citoyens canadiens qui sont touchés par leurs décisions. Judith McCormack a déclaré que [Traduction] « L’obligation de rendre compte permet de savoir quelle est la décision qui a été rendue, qui l’a rendue, pourquoi elle a été rendue, qui l’a influencée et qui sera touchée par elle »Footnote 5.

Bien que les réflexions de M. Richard évoquent la possibilité de mener un examen adéquat d’une question, ces mêmes principes pourraient aussi servir à informer les citoyens et le public sur la nature des questions réglées devant les organismes juridictionnels et les tribunaux administratifs. Reste à voir maintenant si une telle façon de prendre des décisions peut être utile aux citoyens ou à la société en général et pour le compte de qui elles seront prises.

Or, comment peut-on harmoniser l’objectif de promouvoir le caractère public dans un contexte de droit administratif avec l’obligation générale des tribunaux administratifs de rendre compte à la législature et à l’appareil judiciaire? Le vocabulaire juridique souvent très spécialisé est pratiquement incompréhensible au commun des mortels et les vicissitudes des tribunaux administratifs spécialisés, de plus en plus nombreux, pourraient le compliquer encore plus compte tenu de la nature des affaires traitées. À ce titre, le défi consiste encore à fournir de l’information compréhensible et utile aux parties prenantes, y compris au public, tout en offrant des services spécialisés aux utilisateurs ultimes des tribunaux et des organismes juridictionnels.

Favoriser l’ouverture et la transparence du processus décisionnel

La promotion d’un processus de décision ouvert et transparent émane aussi des cinq principes fondamentaux auxquels le Congrès américain accorde une importance primordiale dans les interactions entre le gouvernement et les citoyens. Ce sont la reddition des comptes, l’efficacité, la transparence, la participation et la collaborationFootnote 6. Bien que ces principes ne soient aucunement définitifs, ils fournissent une base permettant d’évaluer comment des politiques et des actions peuvent être élaborées pour que les organismes juridictionnels et les tribunaux administratifs remplissent leur mandat tout en soupesant d’autres facteurs sans se limiter aux résultats nets.

La promotion d’un processus de décision ouvert et transparent est une entreprise difficile, d’autant plus que les politiques qui régissent la manière de rendre le contenu disponible sont toujours en cours d’élaboration. Cela dit, les solutions dans ce domaine se sont incontestablement multipliées depuis qu’Internet occupe une place prépondérante dans les moyens de communication et que les « nuages » sont devenus le principal véhicule de stockage du 21e siècle. Alors que l’on a continué en grande partie à consigner les dossiers sur papier en ayant recours au personnel spécialisé de registres centralisés, de nouveaux systèmes robustes de gestion électronique des dossiers ont permis de décentraliser ces services de sorte qu’ils sont devenus disponibles dans plus d’endroits et dans des délais plus courts. Par exemple, le Tribunal de la sécurité sociale, qui a vu le jour en 2013, exploite un système de gestion des dossiers depuis divers établissements de Service Canada. La copie électronique des documents est considérée la version originale. Comme les membres habitent diverses régions du Canada, il est possible de confier l’examen des affaires à des membres qui habitent à proximité des requérants et de tenir des audiences en procédant à l’examen des arguments écrits au moyen de téléconférences, de vidéoconférences ou en personneFootnote 7.

Bien que ces solutions se soient avérées efficaces pour simplifier le processus administratif relatif aux décisions, l’utilisation de technologies ne semble pas avoir simplifié le processus d’accès à l’information. Les entreprises privées ont misé sur les extranets pour simplifier la diffusion d’information dans le cas de transactions commerciales, mais les « centres névralgiques numériques » n’ont jamais été aussi populaires aux fins de gestion des dossiers. Par exemple, à la Cour fédérale et à la Cour d’appel fédérale, l’information au sujet de la nature des dossiers est actuellement offerte en libre accès. Il est facile de repérer, en saisissant un nom ou un numéro du dossier, l’information concernant les noms et les coordonnées des parties, les observations émises dans les affaires et leur état d’avancement devant la Cour. Néanmoins, en raison du nombre restreint d’observations soumises par voie électronique, la reproduction des documents des dossiers demeure extrêmement coûteuse pour les parties intéressées si elles ne sont pas parties au litigeFootnote 8.

En mettant au point des systèmes fonctionnant sur la base d’autorisations ou en offrant en ligne des versions caviardées des dossiers, les organismes juridictionnels et les tribunaux administratifs pourraient devenir plus ouverts et transparents pour le public et offrir des moyens plus évolutifs qui permettraient aux parties d’accéder facilement aux dossiers. Cela pourrait aussi dispenser de consacrer énormément d’espace au stockage et au maintien des dossiers. Une telle organisation pourrait s’avérer utile dans les affaires nécessitant une révision judiciaire qui fait intervenir la compilation coûteuse et laborieuse de volumineux dossiers.

Les exemples ci-dessus ne sont que deux possibilités qui rendraient le processus de prise de décisions plus ouvert et transparent et l’on doit comprendre que de nombreuses autres permettraient d’atteindre ce même but. Compte tenu de la multiplication tout aussi importante des lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels, il est possible que les citoyens ne souhaitent pas voir étaler des renseignements qui les concernent sur la place publique. Même si les sanctions administratives, entre autres sujets, ne sont pas imposées par suite d’un acte criminel, elles peuvent porter gravement atteinte à la réputation d’une personne dans son entourage. Une plus grande transparence peut favoriser l’équité et la démocratie des sociétés, mais elle peut aussi rendre celles-ci plus restrictives et autoritaires.

Créer une société plus ouverte et transparente

L’objectif ultime des procédures judiciaires ouvertes et transparentes est mené dans l’optique de favoriser la reddition des comptes, l’efficacité, la transparence, la participation et la collaboration. Pour qu’une société fonctionne comme elle se doit, ses citoyens doivent savoir comment interagir dans la sphère publique. Le droit criminel régit des affaires où les agissements des citoyens ont des répercussions directes. En ce qui concerne le droit administratif, les choses sont moins claires et peuvent nécessiter des actions spécifiques pour produire les résultats escomptés. En mettant l’information à la disposition des parties prenantes de tous les paliers, le dialogue devient possible entre les instances administratives, les législateurs, les corps judiciaires et le public. Ainsi, la gouvernance se fait de manière collaborative plutôt que de reposer sur le principe de la contradiction et constitue un lieu d’échange servant l’amélioration continuelle et non les éternelles frustrations.

Ces principes prennent toute leur valeur dans les sociétés où la participation n’est pas un concept statique et ne se limite pas à une représentation à l’assemblée législative. Les citoyens sont en mesure, aujourd’hui, de communiquer en temps réel peu importe où ils se trouvent dans le monde et de mobiliser rapidement et efficacement d’autres citoyens en fonction de leurs intérêts. Ils ne sont plus restreints par le bouche-à-oreille, les médias imprimés et les médias de masse : grâce à Twitter, à Facebook ainsi qu’à une foule d’autres applications des réseaux sociaux et de sites Web, ils ont la possibilité de s’organiser en moins de deux notamment pour orchestrer des mouvements de protestation locaux, régionaux, nationaux ou internationaux. Cela a occasionné un revirement profond des façons de diffuser l’information tout en créant un risque grave qu’elle soit erronée.

Aussi faut-il que les acteurs institutionnels donnent accès à de l’information fiable afin d’éviter la confusion et offrir les moyens, pour les citoyens, d’agir à la lumière de cette information. La démocratie participative tire ses origines de la période athénienne. Aujourd’hui, elle atteint un degré considérable car elle permet aux citoyens de participer au processus démocratique et elle présente le potentiel de transformer leurs moyens d’interagir avec les gouvernements.

L’idée de rendre les organismes juridictionnels et les tribunaux administratifs totalement transparents peut paraître extravagante. Néanmoins, il est envisageable de créer des sociétés plus progressives, ouvertes et participatives. Il suffit d’examiner les sujets qui préoccupent le droit administratif pour ne plus en douter. Si les citoyens étaient habilités à mieux comprendre les dossiers relatifs aux déclarations de revenus traités par l’Agence du revenu du Canada, le paiement des impôts les inquiéterait moins. Si les immigrants arrivés au Canada savaient que leur dossier s’empile sur celui d’autres personnes, craindraient-ils autant la déportation? Plus que jamais, l’information qui circule au 21e siècle confère un pouvoir à ceux qui sont aptes à la manier. Depuis plusieurs centaines d’années, les avocats tirent profit de leur connaissance du droit pour gagner leur vie. Compte tenu du coût croissant de ce savoir spécialisé et de l’éclatement relatif du droit administratif, il paraît honnête de rendre le jeu plus équitable.

Notes de bas de page