Luc Bélanger
Chairperson and Full-Time Member

Luc Bélanger

Luc Bélanger has extensive experience as a lawyer with the Department of Justice Canada. From 2005 to 2011, he led the Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada legal services team in litigation against tobacco manufacturers. During this time, Mr. Bélanger developed a strong interest in using new technologies for administering and managing a high volume of documentary evidence in both paper and electronic formats.

From 2009 to 2014, Mr. Bélanger was a member of Sedona Canada Working Group 7. He contributed actively to the 2015 publication of the second edition of the Sedona Canada Principles Addressing Electronic Discovery.

Between 2012 and 2014, Mr. Bélanger put his leadership and experience to contribution for the creation of the National eDiscovery and Litigation Support Services Team in Justice Canada's Litigation Branch. During this time, he also created and co-chaired the eDiscovery Practice Group at Justice Canada. He initiated the development and implementation of a National Litigation Readiness Standard.

From 2014 to 2017 Mr. Bélanger worked with Employment and Social Development Canada legal services. He argued before the Social Security Tribunal of Canada and participated in drafting legislation for the Canada Pension Plan enhancement that starts in 2019.

Mr. Bélanger holds a civil law degree (LL.L.) from the University of Ottawa and is a member of the Barreau du Québec. He is the spouse of Ms. Josée Drouin and has three children: Léonie, Augustin and Calixa.

Luc Bélanger
Président et Membre à temps plein

Luc Bélanger

Me Luc Bélanger possède une vaste expérience en tant qu'avocat au ministère de la Justice du Canada. De 2005 à 2011, il a notamment dirigé l'équipe de travail au sein des services juridiques d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada dans les dossiers de litige contre les manufacturiers de tabac. C'est durant cette période que Me Bélanger à développer un fort intérêt pour l'utilisation des nouvelles technologies pour l'administration et la gestion d'un fort volume de preuve documentaire tant en format papier qu'électronique.

C'est ainsi que de 2009 à 2014, Me Bélanger a été membre du groupe de travail no. 7 de Sedona Canada. Il a contribué activement à la publication de la deuxième édition en 2015 des Principes de Sedona Canada sur l'administration de la preuve électronique.

Me Bélanger a mis son leadership et son expérience à contribution de 2012 à 2014 pour la création du Bureau national de la preuve électronique et de soutien aux litiges à la Direction du contentieux du ministère de la Justice du Canada. Lors de cette période, il a en outre créé et co-présider le groupe de pratique sur l'administration de la preuve électronique au sein du ministère de la Justice du Canada. Il a aussi initié le développement et l'implantation d'une norme nationale de préparation aux litiges.

De 2014 à 2017 Me Bélanger a travaillé aux services juridiques d'Emploi et développement social Canada. Plus particulièrement, il a plaidé devant le Tribunal de la sécurité sociale du Canada et participer à la rédaction législative pour la bonification du Régime de pensions du Canada à compter de 2019.

Me Bélanger détient une licence en droit civil (LL.L.) de l'Université d'Ottawa et est membre du Barreau du Québec. Il est le conjoint de Mme Josée Drouin et le père de Léonie, Augustin et Calixa.