Mandate, Mission and Vision

Mandate

The Canada Agricultural Review Tribunal (Tribunal) is an independent, quasi-judicial body established by Parliament pursuant to section 4.1 of the Canada Agricultural Products Act (CAP Act).

The Tribunal's primary role is to provide independent oversight, through the exercise of its review jurisdiction, of federal agencies' use of Administrative Monetary Penalties (AMP) in relation to agriculture and agri-food. These AMP systems form part of several federal agencies' "escalating scale of enforcement" providing an expeditious, non-punitive means to promote regulatory compliance. Alleged violators have the right to seek a review of any AMP violation before the Tribunal. Three agencies - the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, the Canada Border Services Agency and the Pest Management Regulatory Agency - currently fall under the Tribunal's review jurisdiction.

The Tribunal maintains an independent, quasi-judicial, arm's length relationship from Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada and its Minister, as required by the provisions of the CAP Act and the Agriculture and Agri-Food Administrative Monetary Penalties Act (AMP Act). Subsection 4.2 (1) of the CAP Act provides that no member of the Tribunal may concurrently hold employment in the federal public administration. Pursuant to subsection 8(1) of the same Act, the Tribunal is a court of record and has an official seal that is subject to judicial notice.

This legislative framework for the constitution and operation of the Tribunal demonstrates Parliament's intention for a cooperative relationship between the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and the Tribunal, and one that is, all the while, mindful of the necessity for safeguarding the integrity and independence of the Tribunal to carry out its mandate. The Tribunal is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food.

Mission

The mission of the Canada Agricultural Review Tribunal is to provide a timely, independent, fair and informal review of the validity of administrative monetary penalties issued to any person by a federal agency under the AMP Act.

Vision

The vision of the Canada Agricultural Review Tribunal is to safeguard the integrity of the Administrative Monetary Penalties system used by federal agencies to ensure compliance with agriculture and agri-food statutes. The Tribunal acts to balance the rights of Canadians while protecting the health and well-being of Canadian consumers and enhancing the economic vibrancy of Canadian agriculture.

Mandat, mission et vision

Mandat

La Commission de révision agricole du Canada (Commission) est un organe indépendant quasi-judiciaire constitué par le Parlement en vertu de l'article 4.1 de la Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada (Loi PAC).

Le rôle principal de la Commission est d'effectuer, par l'exercice de sa compétence de révision, une supervision indépendante de l'utilisation qui est faite des sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP) par les organismes fédéraux en matière d'agriculture et d'agroalimentaire. Les SAP, qui font partie de « l'échelle progressive de mise en application » employée par plusieurs organismes fédéraux, offrent des moyens non disciplinaires d'encouragement de la conformité aux règlements. Les présumés transgresseurs ont le droit de demander une révision de toute SAP devant la Commission. La compétence de révision de la Commission couvre actuellement trois organismes, soit l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire.

À titre d'organe quasi-judiciaire, la Commission a une relation d'indépendance avec Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et le ministre, comme prévu à la Loi sur les produits agricoles au Canada (Loi PAC) et la Loi sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires en matière d'agriculture et d'agroalimentaire (Loi SAP). Le paragraphe 4.2(1) de la Loi PAC interdit à un membre de la Commission d'exercer d'autres fonctions dans l'administration publique fédérale. Le paragraphe 8(1) de cette même loi précise que la Commission est une cour d'archives, dotée d'un sceau officiel dont l'authenticité est admise d'office.

Ce cadre législatif régissant la constitution et le fonctionnement de la Commission montre que le Parlement souhaite le maintien, entre le ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire et la Commission, d'une relation de coopération qui prenne néanmoins en compte la nécessité de préserver l'intégrité et l'indépendance de la Commission dans l'exécution de son mandat. La Commission rend des comptes au Parlement par l'entremise du ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire.

Mission

La Commission de révision agricole du Canada offre une révision rapide, indépendante, informelle et équitable de la validité de toute sanction administrative pécuniaire imposée à une personne par un organisme fédéral en vertu de la Loi SAP.

Vision

La vision de la Commission de révision agricole du Canada consiste à protéger l'intégrité de l'utilisation des SAP par les organismes fédéraux, pour assurer la conformité aux lois relatives à l'agriculture et à l'agroalimentaire. La Commission s'efforce de préserver les droits des Canadiens tout en protégeant la santé et le bien-être des consommateurs canadiens et en stimulant la vitalité économique de l'agriculture canadienne.